Rules for Syllabifying/Syllabification

1. One vowel/diphthong = one syllable. [So, the number of vowels = the number of syllables.]

ἀκηκόαμεν =5 vowels ἀ / κη / κό / α / μεν =5 syllables

2. Single consonant by itself goes with following vowel. [Exception: final consonants go with preceding vowel.]

 $\dot{\epsilon}\theta\epsilon\alpha\sigma\dot{\alpha}\mu\epsilon\theta\alpha = 6 \text{ vowels}$ $\dot{\epsilon}/\theta\epsilon/\alpha/\sigma\dot{\alpha}/\mu\epsilon/\theta\alpha = 6 \text{ syllables}$

3. Two consecutive vowels (but not a diphthong) are divided; = two syllables.

 $\dot{\epsilon}$ θεασάμεθα =6 vowels $\dot{\epsilon}$ θε / ασάμεθα =6 syllables

4. Consonant cluster that CAN NOT be pronounced together must be divided; the *first* consonant of the cluster goes with the preceding vowel.

5. Consonant cluster that CAN be pronounced together goes with the following vowel. [Note: μ and ν *can* be pronounced in a cluster if they are the 2nd letter.]

Χριστός Χρι / στός

πνεῦμα

πνεῦ / μα

6. Double consonants are divided.

ἄγγελος ἄγ / γελος

βάλλω βάλ / λω

7. Compound words are divided where the two words are joined.

ἐκβάλλω ἐκ / βάλ / λω